Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

A $50 unforgotten kindness chain reaction

on July 15, 2014

This weeks writing prompt is Honey versus Vinegar  asking us to write about a kindness not forgotten.

One Valentine’s Day evening four women left a waitress a $50 tip on a bill of about $30, and a note that said, You’re wonderful! She hadn’t had that generous of a tip or a written compliment ever and being a college student her money was tight and the compliment validated her long hours. This unexpected gesture was never forgotten and little do those women know but they started a chain reaction.

That waitress once graduating from college and finding a teaching job would continue to leave a compliment and a $50 extra tip over what would have been the normal tip for her waitress/waiter every Valentine’s Day.

Later after marrying and having duel incomes to rely on she began to do this around other holidays as well, such as Christmas and New Year’s.

She before and now with her husband have been chased by waitresses out of the restaurant stopping us, sharing how they could now buy that special Christmas gift for their child, or go visit their  mother who was ill. A waiter who needed just that much more to pay his rent. We have left before seeing the reaction of the tip because the act of just giving that makes us feel good. We’ve been hugged by these strangers who are so grateful. Seen tears of relief, hearing how this means so much to them.

Waiting tables is a hard job, I know because I was the waitress that Valentine’s Day barely making ends meet. That unexpected gift brought a tear to my eye because when you are struggling it’s that little bit extra that can help you get a head or be able to do something that the lack of money was preventing. It’s funny. It seems to work out that every time the waiter/waitress seems to need that extra tip.

It’s a small thing, but a kindness I plan on continuing….


11 responses to “A $50 unforgotten kindness chain reaction

  1. Louise says:

    What a wonderful story! It’s funny how moments of kindness like that have impact long after the initial act.

  2. That’s a wonderful tradition to keep alive! Pay it forward. I have had an acti of kindness happen to me in a very hard time and I will never forget it. I plan on paying it forward like that.. as soon as the incomes stabilize!

  3. […] Meaningful Mommy A $50 unforgotten kindness chain reaction Faces of New Eden […]

  4. […] Manifesto for The need for Emotional Intelligence, a ‘pay it forward’ story based on an ‘Unforgotten Kindness’ and a ‘lost’ project found and revisited. I really enjoy these wring […]

  5. susieshy45 says:

    Once I worked in a hospital where I had to leave after 2 months because I got another job. The owner of the hospital paid me an entire month’s salary over what was due to me. I still remember this act of kindness and the old lady who did it with fondness.

  6. Hey 🙂 We love this story and would like to feature it on Kindness Blog with links back to you. Would that be OK? No problems if not 🙂

  7. […] A holiday tradition for me is leaving a extra generous tip for a waiter/waitress this time of year. I worked as a server when I was in college and know how hard it can be for persons in that industry to often make ends meet. I wrote about this in a post A $50 Unforgotten Kindness. […]

  8. […] Meaningful Mommy A $50 unforgotten kindness chain reaction […]

Thoughts?? :)