Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Can someone explain to me why time flies by so fast once you have kids?!

on November 16, 2014

Ok, so I need some answers. Why, pray tell, does time seem to fly by faster than I ever thought possible since the birth of my children?

I do have a few speculations:

1. You are no longer thinking about yourself. I think that once we become responsible for these little humans we cease to be so egocentric and instead become hyper focused on our children thus time also ceases to exist. So BAM! All of a sudden hours have flown by while we sat on the floor playing dolls, trains, cars and dinosaurs…

2. Our hearts begin to beat outside our bodies and in our little loves. Like literally these tiny humans take our hearts right out and start walking around with them in their little hands. I’m sure that has something to do with time beginning to speed by in the blink of an eye once we are parents. It’s because we no longer have control of our hearts, they do.

3. We’re older. For some of us we waited a long time to start a family and it was something that always seemed “way off in the future”, but now that t’s here our “future” is marked by points in THEIR futures, not ours. Their first steps, first words, first foods, first birthday, starting preschool, starting kindergarten, learning to read, learning to write, more birthday milestones, school milestones, etc.. All the way to the wedding and families and lives we hope they have someday. All that projection moves time, I swear!!

4. We’re tired. I know lack of sleep can do some funky things to the brain so I know all parents of children of any age are sleep deprived. We never catch up because there isn’t time so we stay perpetually tired. We are all still trying to find that lost 2,347th hour from when our children were 18 months old…Oh, did you get a sleeper? Well, that’s ok, you’ll lose sleep with your teenager…Paybacks are sweet! Ok, I’m just kidding, I’m glad some of you aren’t as tired as I am, and if paybacks are true, I will be not sleeping while both my GIRLS are teenagers due to my karma from just being a teenage girl myself a loooong time ago (which probably seems like yesterday to my mom).

5. Talking to other parents. I think this just cements the time conundrum. Other parents tell us ALL the time how fast it goes and there is power in those words. We hear it and we believe it. They must know right?! Their kids are older than ours. Our parents say it to us. The great grandparents say it. “Just wait, it will all be over in the blink of an eye”. “Enjoy the time while they are growing up, it goes so fast”. “Just relax, every stage is just a short minute in the longer time of life”…I mean geez, if hearing that all day everyday at least 50 times doesn’t make time seem faster, then I don’t know what would. It’s the power of suggestion! Totally real!! And to make matters worse we share these sentiments with anyone whose kids are younger than ours to just keep this time warp moving along at the speed of light.

So here is what I’m going to do. I’m going to hang on and enjoy the ride. I’m going to make each and every fleeting moment last as long as humanly possible. I’m going to cherish all the bumps, hills, valleys, high pointsย and straight stretches along the way. I will do my very best to live in the moment and let the future take care of itself while I love these two sweet beings with all my heart. Yes, the very same heart that they full well know they hold in their sweet little hands โค


9 responses to “Can someone explain to me why time flies by so fast once you have kids?!

  1. Casey says:

    Totally. And is it just me or does it get exponentially faster with each kid?

    • Megan L. says:

      Totally faster with each kid! I only have two but it is crazy how fast it goes by!!

      • Jess says:

        Well, I have four and it does get faster each time. I wouldn’t mind being able to slow down that first year because they are so cute and easy ๐Ÿ™‚ And I wouldn’t mind skipping the the time from the first to second year because they are so much trouble (curious and determined, into everything!). Other than that, it’s a mind trip to have my children be at an age I distinctly remember and to know that it was so long ago. How could that be? I still only feel 12 myself ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Megan L. says:

        Oh boy! I can’t imagine with 4, I bet you blink and they are a year older…with of course a few of those painfully slooooow periods when they are stuck in a stage that is incredibly challenging! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Can’t explain it Megan, it just happens!

  3. Terri says:

    I have spoke with other moms about this exact same topic. Even when my mom visits she swears her time here just flies by. I think each of your points are valid. I have an almost 6 month old (next Thursday) and I think sometimes my day is full of small increments of time…3 hour feedings, then maybe a 1-2 hour nap… before you know it its bath time at 630 and bed at 7! Time flies! Great post!

  4. teachezwell says:

    I like your reasoning! (That’s cuz I have thought of a couple of those reasons.) I love your posts- so encouraging and funny, too!

Thoughts?? :)

