Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Getting in the swing of things!

on October 7, 2014

I’m a routines person. I get comfortable with a schedule and I thrive. When I get a new schedule my mind becomes a jumble of what I think I need to be doing (my old schedule) colliding with what I really need to be doing (my new schedule).  Currently I am in flux, slowly getting my new rhythm.

In every day there are what I consider the necessary components consisting of meals, laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping, appointments, kid activities, school, family time and then there is my free time. This is any down time for me. It occurs usually after the kids are in bed or early in the morning before they wake up. I read during my me time. I write. I have been missing both. Both literally and figuratively. I haven’t been writing and miss the outlet. My stack of ‘to read books’ is knee high.

There is hope though. I am in a rhythm of getting the girls ready in the morning to be out of the house at 8:45 daily. They are dressed with their hair and teeth brushed. I am becoming an expert at packing a lunchbox and a snack.  Backpacks ready. School folder accounted for with any returned papers inside. I am in charge of walking my daughter and our neighbor twins up the hill .7 mile  to school in the morning three days a week. I drive the school crew the other two days a week because after I drop the school ages girls off I continue on to then take my youngest to preschool. The last month I have hung out either at my daughters preschool making sure she’s doing ok, or I’ve run a few errands. she is there for 2 hours and 45 minutes. In my mind I envisioned this to be an eternity of kid free time. In reality is goes by in the blink of an eye. This month I am hoping to use one of the two-hour segments of time for me and the other to volunteer in my daughters kindergarten class each week.

In the afternoon my youngest and I walk back up the hill to school to pick up my daughter and the neighbor kids and we all trek down the hill to home. I have my meal plans set for the next month thanks to missfreddy.com and  my youngest and I go to the grocery store on Fridays for the next weeks meal plan. It is working out fairly well. I have been taking the one on one time with my youngest to go to the library and the children’s museum. We go out to lunch and to the park. We snuggle and read books on the couch. We play ponies and princess. Today we went to the beach. I am loving my time with just her. This is the first time for us to be together, just she and I, now that my oldest is in school. It’s pretty wonderful getting to know her without the influence her sister has on her when they are together.

Now, I am hoping to add the me time schedule. The mom time always seems to come last.  Which is okay. I am home to be the captain of the kid ship so to speak. It is my job at this point in time. One I wouldn’t trade for the world. Well, 98% of the time anyway. 😉 Lately the girls are both going to bed at 7:30PM giving me some time in the evening (like right now) to get some writing done. I’ll try to go to bed early so I can read. I am not much of a morning person since having my daughters mostly because I have been too tired. Kids seem to do that. Create exhaustion. Or maybe it’s because I’m almost 40. Probably a combo of the two. Now though, both my girls are sleeping in until about 6:30 which is late for them, so I’m going to try to get up at 5:30AM to have an hour for me before they wake up. Old people like to get up early, right? We’ll see how this goes. It might be nice to watch the sun rise. They are beautiful this time of year. If the sun comes out that is…otherwise I can sit in front of my S.A.D light therapy lamp! Which I love by the way.

So, here’s to me getting completely in tune with our new family schedule and finding the extra time!! I’m feeling pretty confident 🙂


6 responses to “Getting in the swing of things!

  1. I wish you the best of luck on finding your me time. (I get up at 5 every day to have some uninterrupted me time! I don’t necessarily like getting up that early but it works to get things done!)

    • Megan L. says:

      I’m trying! It seems when I get up at 5 my daughter (who has snuck into my bed) senses I’m gone and gets up too. I have to admit her morning snuggle time is precious as well 🙂

  2. teachezwell says:

    OK, you make my life look like it’s been through the blender. But I LOVE your scheduled life, your priorities, and how wonderful this must be for your girls. Just want you to know that 40 is not old. 🙂 I used to think 14 was old. Now I guess 80 is old. Enjoy!

  3. You are providing a wonderful gift for your children Megan….yourself.
    Hoping along the way there will be some “me” time.
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. susieshy45 says:

    Hi Megan
    You are getting a lot of uncounted for exercise as well, so that is one more thing you can cross off the list. What a bonus.
    Love the fact that you are enjoying each moment of your daughters’ childhood and sharing it with us.

Thoughts?? :)

