Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

September Blog Re-cap: Meaningful Mommy

on October 1, 2014

“A Meaningful Life is not being rich, being popular, being highly educated or being perfect. It Is about being real, being humble, being strong and being able to share ourselves and touch the lives of others. It Is only then that we could have a full, happy and contented life.” ~Unknown

I am a wearer of many hats…a mommy, wife, daughter, sister, friend, ex-teacher, stay-at-home mommy, wanna-be perfectionist but constant mistake maker trying to find a balance between being a mommy, being me and leading a meaningful life.

Because of my ‘all or nothing’ mentality (I’m working on this, honest) I was becoming obsessed with how I should be living than actually living. I was worrying about being perfect and missing being present. I realized I needed to change. I started my blog to start my journey of changing my focus from that of being a perfect person to becoming a flawed but meaningful one. There is no one “perfect” way. Just as we expect people to be individuals, our lives should also be a reflection of who we are. The trick is figuring out what you want and the path to take. Here are some of the components of my path.

I hope my posts will inspire you to leave the false idea of perfection behind and embrace the art of being meaningful. Together we can find inspiration to live and parent with meaning and intentionality!

I appreciate everyone who is reading ‘meaningful mommy’ and following along. Your support is very meaningful!

~Megan

Below are the categories I write in my blog. Yes, there are a few. Pick what speaks to you and start there! Click on any blue to be automatically linked to those posts!

In adventure and travel: Our biggest adventure in September was starting school. I will be going on a mommy adventure to Washington D.C. and Pittsburg in October. Look for fun posts about that!!

In mommy & me I share about my kids mostly and my mommy moments!! My oldest daughter just started Kindergarten and my youngest preschool. Here is how that pulled my heartstrings: With My Heart Swelling & My eyes Welling ❤  I wrote about my realization that We Are Already Meaningful Mommies!! Woohoo! Pat yourself on the back 🙂

In food & garden: I’ve posted pics about our gardens growth! It has been much more of a success than I ever imagined. We have really enjoyed this garden as a family and can’t wait for our Fall harvest! It keeps growing, amazing. Our pumpkins are getting huge and orange! See pics here!

I was invited by another blogger to try out her meal prep plan for a 6-week time frame!! I am so excited! Here is my post about my experience with Week One of Miss Freddy’s 6-Week Family Meal Plan. Awesome!

In living simply: I will continue to post about how leading a simple life can actually make it more meaningful and intentional. Here is an older post about my feelings about being Average. I am not intimidated by being average.

In mind & body health: I wrote about my S.A.D. disorder in late August and will re-cap what benefit my light therapy box has had for me…along with some very important supplements. stay tuned!!
•Each month there will be a 30 day challenge. May’s challenge was Abs. June’s challenge was Arms. July’s challenge was Thighs, August Good-Bye Love Handles. September my challenge was walking my daughter to Kindergarten uphill .7 miles and back down twice a day. There is a new October Challenge posted! Join me!
I will continue to add a monthly fitness challenge, as well as helpful tips on how to look at life with a healthier mental and physical outlook.

In kids corner: fun stuff there are activities and crafts to keep those kiddoes busy and out of trouble! Septembers posts are 5 Easy DIY Instruments & Fall Crafts in 10 Steps or Less!

In parenting tips & tricks I post about positive Discipline and how I carry out its strategies into raising my girls. I will add a weekly tip related to this philosophy. I will also add any great parenting advice I come across. In keeping with my hopes for more open discussion of emotions and mental health one of the posts I wrote was about Kids & Feelings since emotional Intelligence should start with our children. I’m adding an oldie but a goodie Kids & Quarreling!

And in wordpress & writing: I am still enjoying the WordPress writing challenges!! I actually submitted my first writing to a magazine. no word yet….also submitted to a really popular blog hoping to be featured. We’ll see… I also had my 39th Birthday which I wrote a Tanka for. Don’t know what a Tanka is…I didn’t either. Check out My Birthday Tanka Runneth Over. I received a Lovely Blog Award ❤ Thank you!

I’m up to 166 blog followers and 123 on Facebook! If you’d like my posts to show up in your daily Facebook feed making it easy to share anything you like with your friends, friend meaningful mommy here!  (plus I share some extra’s on FB that are not on my blog)…

I’d love to hear from you! Comments, Questions & Suggestions Welcome!!!  🙂 ~Megan

 


4 responses to “September Blog Re-cap: Meaningful Mommy

  1. Megan L. says:

    Hi Sophia! Nice to meet you too 🙂

  2. Terri says:

    You’ve been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award. I love reading your posts/blog. You can get the details here. http://conceivabledream.wordpress.com/2014/11/18/one-lovely-blog-award/

Thoughts?? :)

