Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

When my mom was my age….

on August 25, 2014

I spent today celebrating my soon to be 39th birthday with my family.  I spent most of it looking at and thinking about my mom.

It’s funny, when my mom was 39 I was 14. I remember she seemed so mature. Not as in old, but as in put together and with it. She was responsible and seemed to always know what was best and what was happening. Extremely smart, competent and well, motherly. Beautiful.

When I look at myself in the mirror I do not see that mature woman I saw in my mother. I see me, trying to do my best. Seemingly one step behind, but hanging in there. Making mistakes, but moving forward. I see my hopes and dreams for myself and my family for the future. I see a woman who struggles to find balance with self, motherhood and family. I see tired eyes and the beginning of wrinkles. I also see contentment with where I am today and the fact that I know I do not need to be perfect.

My daughters are three and five. I often wonder what they see when they look at me. I wonder what my Mom saw when she looked in the mirror when she was 39.

I think I should ask her.


7 responses to “When my mom was my age….

  1. susieshy45 says:

    You are perfect as you are. Ask your daughters what they think and they will tell you that you the most beautiful, loving, caring, perfect mother match for them. We are made as the exact match for our family- for our spouses, for our children, for our parents and for the niche we have in the world.

    • Megan L. says:

      Aw..thanks! It’s just funny when I was 14 that I thought it would feel so different to be 39…I mean when I’m 40 I am for sure a “grown up” right? 🙂

  2. tamarasuz says:

    Isn’t it funny how our perspective changes as we get older. There are things I say to my kids that my parents would say to me…I swore I would never do this. My mom is completely amazing and I am so in awe of what she has done throughout her life.

  3. hugmamma says:

    I think you should…and I’m certain she’ll tell you what a marvelous job you’re doing as a mother. It’s the process that really matters. Not the achievements. Those are only the icing on the cake. From the “odors” emanating from your writing, that’s one delicious confection you’re baking. You’re one…master chef of a mom. Tons of hugs…

  4. Language apps for kids can help fight Alzheimer’s! At least this is what this research says! http://www.confessionsoftiredmoms.com/featured/language-apps-for-kids

Thoughts?? :)

