Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Halloween Already?? It’s still f’ing summer!

on August 24, 2014

Today is August 23rd right? I’m just checking because today when I ran into the grocery store I saw this

HalloweenYes, that is a  Halloween display complete with creepy tree and signs hanging everywhere… and the candy! Shelves and shelves of candy…

I’m not impressed. I am not sold and I am not down with even thinking about Halloween yet!!

School hasn’t even started yet.  Fall isn’t even here yet.

Why so soon? What’s the rush…?

Do they think I will buy my candy early and save it for over two months old by the time trick or treaters come?

Or, are they thinking I will buy candy now and eat it, then buy more, eat that, buy more and so on?

That’s it isn’t it.

The Bastards.

I’ll tell you what, it is not happening! None of it.

I refuse to even think about Halloween until at least October. Probably mid October. I do not buy my candy until a couple of days before Halloween, and I often wait until the day of. Halloween has no business in August. I refuse to buy into the panic or the hype.

It’s stupid, it’s irritating and it’s just ridiculous!

 


5 responses to “Halloween Already?? It’s still f’ing summer!

  1. Crystal Renee says:

    Halloween is my favorite time of year so I love seeing the treats and decorations already out. I already have some decorations up inside my house. I don’t care that it is over 2 months away.

    • Megan L. says:

      I love fall and Halloween too…I just want to go all out in October and leave Sept. for back to school excitement. I guess I would love to see one holiday per month stating the 1st and ending the last day of he month 😉

  2. You think Halloween craze is bad? My mother in law starts her CHRISTMAS shopping in JULY!

    • Megan L. says:

      Ha! I know the holiday “early birds” just love it! I am a holiday realist. I don’t procrastinate and I feel that spending one month on each holiday is more than enough time. So Oct. 1-31st is ok for Halloween. Christmas is fine from Dec. 1-31, The month of Feb. Valentines Day, March St. Patricks Day…Etc. 🙂

  3. momof1and10 says:

    I too love Halloween, but I don’t start the decor until mid October. It is also my daughters birth month, so I don’t like to take away from that. 🙂

Thoughts?? :)

