Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Woohoo!! She’s off to school :)

on August 21, 2014

Woo Hoo!! Woo Hoo!! Woo Hoo!! Wait, am I supposed to feel like that?! ūüôā

So, our first-born daughter (aka our big sweet) is heading to school and I am having mixed feelings about my mixed feelings. See, I am¬†mostly excited.¬†Honestly I’m¬†really excited. I get a goofy smile when school is mentioned and then I feel like maybe I shouldn’t be smiling. I do have a little anxiety because it is a change and change is always a little nerve-wracking, but mostly I am so ready for her to be in school. Yep, I’m super ready. Do I sound like a horrible mother?

My thing is¬†her mind is busy. Well busy is an understatement. She is wicked smart and questions everything.¬†Everything, meaning everything¬†I say, everything she see’s, thinks, hears…everything is something to examine, contemplate, question¬†and figure out. This is awesome and exhausting. I am actually grateful for someone else (her teachers) to be asked some of what she wants to know and for someone else (again her teachers)¬†to add to her tools of how to get access to information on her own! I am so, so, so excited for her to have supplemental educators. I say supplemental because of course my husband and I will continue to be her teachers as well.¬†We love learning with her and helping her grow. I’m just excited for her to have more!

I know she will love having science, math, reading, writing, physical education, library, music, recess, lunch, snack, art, circle time, playtime, and social interaction with her fellow classmates. She is going to have to build relationships with her teachers and kids alike without me there.  I know she is going to soak it all up like a sponge and then come home and ask more questions which I will be happy to help her figure out the answers to.

In my years of teaching third grade I watched my students learn so much more from each other and being in a school setting than I ever imagined. Much more than the academics I was teaching. Much more than I can teach her here at home by myself. I just hope the base I have given her will serve as a solid foundation for her to continue building on.

I of course worry like most all mothers hoping that she makes nice friends, that she listens and asks questions respectfully, that she tries her best and doesn’t give up. I hope her teachers realize her gifts and strengths, as well as her challenges, and they foster growth in all areas. I hope¬†my daughter¬†is brave and strong and kind and that she believes in herself. I hope most of all that she continues to be happy.

I hope she knows that no matter her successes and mistakes I will¬†continue to love her for just being her.¬†She is who I cherish, not her grades or if she is the ‘best’ at anything. I want her to make mistakes to learn from them. I want her to push herself by trying again and again if necessary. I want her to feel success and triumph. I want her to be brave when she needs to and to ask for help when she needs it. I want her to know that she is supposed to not know everything and that asking questions are what makes someone smart. I want her to learn from those around her soaking in the gifts everyone has to share. I want her to see that education is a journey that never ends unless you let it.

But that first day after she is dropped off at school and after I feel a little choked up (because yes, this is a huge milestone),¬†¬†I imagine I will feel a bit like this video….


2 responses to “Woohoo!! She’s off to school :)

  1. susieshy45 says:

    Nice. Typical mommy blues. Faced it many times so far in my own life.

  2. […] tomorrow. I know there have been a million starting school posts and I actually already posted one, WooHoo, She’s Off To School…but tonight as I lay next to my daughter looking at her while my husband read The Night Before […]

Thoughts?? :)

