Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

What’s with the ‘wipe me’ stage??

on July 7, 2014

Ok, I am past the diapers stage, past potty training, past accidents…but what’s with the need for me to wipe them?! Almost every time…

I’ve explained to both girls that they need to do this themselves. That when they are at school I won’t be there to help them. That it is part of ‘going to the bathroom yourself!’

But then there it is again. The scream, long and draw out ‘Mmmmmmooooooooooooommmmmmmmm come Wiiiiiiiiipe meeee’. I mentally mumble great and trudge over. I mention that they could do it themselves, nope. I tell them it doesn’t even matter if they miss any. That I will buy lots of underwear, that we can wash the underwear and they can have a bath every night…nope. No deal. I should try treats! I haven’t yet resorted to candy…or money…hmmm….anyway…

Sometimes they scream for me and I come over only to hear, Oh I’m not done yet…so I wait. Not like I have anything else to be doing other than waiting to wipe a butt, so I wait. And when prompted I wipe. I must say, I have been ‘potty’ trained well.

Except…for the other day. I get summoned in the usual way. A loud scream like someone has been maimed echoing throughout the house from the bathroom. I go in. I ask “Are you done?”, answer “Yep”, I ask “Are you sure”. Answer, “Yep” I reach in to wipe and …

My hand gets peed on! PEED ON!! Warm liquid running down my fingers! The toilet paper I was holding becoming a soggy wet mess! Ugh!! Frozen from shock I finally pull my hand back and say “Was that pee? Did you just pee on my hand?” A smile and the answer, “Oh, guess I wasn’t done yet”.

No words. I have no words. πŸ™‚

Perfection Pending

12 responses to “What’s with the ‘wipe me’ stage??

  1. normaleverydaylifeblog says:

    The wipe me stage does feel longer than it should be when you’re in it! They’ll definitely stop when they start school, but I can’t remember how much sooner than that! πŸ™‚ #manicmondays

  2. Katie @ Pick Any Two says:

    I’m pretty sure this post is a glimpse into my future (my son isn’t quite 2 and we haven’t started potty training yet at all). Thank you for helping me mentally prepare for the road ahead, haha!

    • Megan L. says:

      My pleasure πŸ˜‰ My tip would be to teach wiping while potty training. I made the mistake of doing all the wiping, so I shot myself in the foot with that!

  3. I totally know what you’re going through! My middle child was in this stage for what seemed like FOREVER!! I finally just said no and stopped doing it. The only exception I make is when we are in a public restroom and I want him touching as little as possible. But, at home, he doesn’t even bug me now. I love it. Stick to your guns and maybe they’ll finally stop asking!? At least we can hope. πŸ˜‰

    • Megan L. says:

      I hope so!! As for now when I say I won’t do it they just sit there…seemingly for hours, until I finally give in. Maybe next time I should just bring them a book and tell them to read until they are ready to wipe themselves πŸ˜‰

  4. Jessie says:

    I’m not a fan of that either- and I felt like my middle girl had the same “MOOOOOOM WIIIIPPEEE MEEEE!” cry forever (and yes it was always that loud, long and whiney. But she’s four, and she no longer asks, so it couldn’t have actually been the 5 years I remember it being. However, now she sometimes “forgets” to wipe…. Still better than being pee’d on though! πŸ™‚

    • Megan L. says:

      I hope it ends soon πŸ™‚ My little one is 3 so hopefully soon and my oldest is 5 and starts K in the Fall so she’ll have to get over it πŸ˜‰ She went to pre-k for few hours a couple days a week and did it there. She just says I do it better. Maybe I need to lower my wiping standards so she does it better… πŸ˜‰

  5. Louise says:

    This now only happens with poo with my eldest. What gets me is my 4-year-old demands privacy right up until the moment I’m invited in to wipe her bum post-poo. She sometimes manages herself and I’m now more a “checker” than a “wiper” – so perhaps you’ll be promoted to that stage soon πŸ™‚

    As for being peed on? Hasn’t happened in a while, but we are about to start toilet training my youngest…. πŸ˜‰

  6. 9jaime says:

    Haha We’ve all been there. However, with 9 kids, I just ignore them. They eventually get the picture, I just never know what mess I may stumble upon in the bathroom. πŸ˜‰ I’m so sorry you got peed on. Too funny!

Thoughts?? :)

