Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Month of June Re-cap: Meaningful Mommy

on July 1, 2014

I started my meaningful mommy blog a little under three-month ago and it has led me on a personal journey to embrce an intentional and meaningful life. There is no one “perfect” way. Just as we expect people to be individuals, our lives should also be a reflection of who we are. The trick is figuring out what you want and the path to take. I find balance to be my biggest challenge.

My hope is that this blog makes someone smile. Maybe learn something new or think about life in a different light. That it lends a hand supporting you to be yourself, helping you to feel confident. This blog is helping me stay focused on keeping my actions intentional and my intentions meaningful. We all get one life, might as well live it doing what we love, alongside the people we love ❤

I appreciate everyone who is reading ‘meaningful mommy’ and following along. Your support is very meaningful! ❤

Here is the month re-cap of my posts in June. This end of the month post allows me to self-reflect and see where I want my path to head next. So….

In adventure and travel: We have bought our tickets for our month-long trip to Croatia. The girls have their passports and we are mostly ready. I have written about:

  • Seated yoga poses for the airplane: I’m hoping these help ease the restlessness wiggles my 3 & 5 yr old will be bound to have…who am I kidding…I will need this too!!
  • The benefits of family travel: I know that giving our children the gift of traveling abroad and in our own country and neighboring areas trumps all material gifts we could ever buy! With travel I have no regrets!
  • Live Music!: There is something about live concerts that just move me. Music is just so much better when heard live. This year I am going to try to see more live venues.

In mommy & me I share about the joys and struggles during my journey of being a mommy. I am constantly learning about myself and about my children. I am learning to really listen to them and create meaningful experiences. I will continue to write about our relationship as we learn and grow together. I also add posts about me, and what is happening in my world, inside and outside of my head 😉 I also joined my first blog hop inspired by Perfection Pending another mommy blogger. Her Manic Monday bloggers share what about parenting is either making them Manic or any emotion on the parenting scale. 😉

In food & garden: I wrote about what our garden has taught us! I wrote about our horrible tent caterpillar infestation, yuck!! I still haven’t built my composter, but I really want to! After our trip it will happen!! Our garden is growing and we can’t wait to harvest our produce!

I’m still hoping to add simple recipes that taste great using real food (food in its original form). Food doesn’t have to be complicated. There will be Gluten Free, Yeast free, Dairy free, Vegetarian options included. 🙂 yum!! I did take part in another blogger’s (The Fashionista Momma) Facebook raw food week-long challenge! That was eye-opening!

In living simply: I wrote about how I am able to focus on being grateful, happy and content with my life. On being present in the moment instead of one foot outside of now…about forgiveness and living the life you want ❤
I will continue to post about how leading a simple life can actually make it more meaningful and intentional.

In mind & body health:
•Each month there will be a 30 day challenge. May’s challenge was Abs. June challenge was Arms. July is Thighs!!
•I wrote about how Body shaming can accidentally happen even when we think we would never do that. Have you asked anyone if they were pregnant lately? If yes, read this!!

I will continue to add a monthly fitness challenge, as well as helpful tips on how to look at life with a healthier mental and physical outlook.

In parenting tips & tricks I post about positive Discipline and how I carry out its strategies into raising my girls. I will add a weekly tip related to this philosophy. I will also add any great parenting advice I come across. also I will include activities that will keep kids busy, because we all know that when kids are busy there is less trouble 😉

  • Parent Tip: Getting Kids to Listen
  • Keeping yourself label free in regards to your parenting style! It’s all good Momma 🙂
  • 6 DIY Outdoor projects
  • 6 Super Easy & Practically Free Craft ideas
  • Brene Browns Parenting Manifesto…Check it out! It’s AWESOME!!

And in WordPress & Writing: A new category because I have found I really enjoy the Weekly Writing Challenge by WordPress. Every Monday there is a new writing challenge. I wrote lyrics to an existing song, I will Survive , I explored my neighborhood, and I wrote about my two selves colliding…It is challenging and fun to read others ideas! A lot of talent in the WordPress world 🙂

* I was nominated for my first award The Versatile Blogger award which I was happy to accept and in return nominate 10 other versatile bloggers for the award. Just sharing some blogger love ❤

So again, continued Thanks for reading! Feel free to share anything you think others would like. I hope to keep this blog growing and leading others to live a life THEY love, for themselves, full of meaningful journeys and intentional actions ❤

I’d love to hear from you! What you like, what you’d like more of and any feedback! 🙂 ~Megan


6 responses to “Month of June Re-cap: Meaningful Mommy

  1. tnkerr says:

    I like what you have done here with the review. That’s a really good idea.

  2. I started doing this recap/check -in recently as well. Helps me keep myself on track and I hope it gives some glimpse into what people can expect out of it.

    • Megan L. says:

      I started my blog mid April so I did this For Apri/May, and then just now for June. I agree, it’s a great way to stay on track and give a quick glimpse of what the blog is about! 🙂

  3. Takeshi says:

    HHi Megan! I nominated you for One Lovely Blog Award. Please do check out my post at http://suejutakeshi.wordpress.com

Thoughts?? :)

