Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Gratefulness instead of Entitlement please!!

on June 29, 2014

I have a question. Why do some people have an inflated sense of entitlement?

en·ti·tle·ment noun \-ˈtī-təl-mənt\

: the condition of having a right to have, do, or get something

: the feeling or belief that you deserve to be given something (such as special privileges)

That thought that they just deserve things because they want them or because they think it would benefit them…?? With disregard to anyone else! Where does this come from?

What happened to being grateful with what you have. Being happy with the kindness of a stranger, a friend or a neighbor and not expecting it. Not just basic human courtesy, but when someone does something really great for you, lends a hand, gives you a special gift, I’m talking about that ‘extra‘ kindness…Why do some people just expect it? Or if you do something really kind once why do they expect it always?

I am struggling with this entitlement issue. Maybe it’s my issue. I don’t expect much, so when someone is really kind or goes out of their way to help me, I am so ‘extra’ grateful. It’s amazing! I love it. But I don’t expect it. I definitely don’t expect it to happen often. I do not take people for granted. I say Thank you, a lot!!

I have a great life. I am content and happy and constantly working to keep a life balance that creates those feelings. It is upsetting when situations cause a shift in my path. I know it’s how I learn and grow…but here’s the thing. Do I tell someone they have entitlement issues and live with the possible feelings of guilt for my comments after or just leave it be and find a way to shift my life back onto my track. Deep down I know the answer to this question, but I really have a problem with rude behavior going uncommented on…I guess my sense of entitlement issue is me feeling like I need to call people out. Turning the other cheek is not my forte 😉

So this entitlement thing…Where does it come from?? How do I deal with it in a positive manner….Any ideas?


Thoughts?? :)

