Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

The bathroom, my mommy sanctuary :)

on June 23, 2014

Ah, the bathroom. It is the most important room in my house and not for the reason you may be thinking. It is form over function for me. The bathroom has become my sanctuary.

I retreat to the bathroom when I need some piece and quiet. Just because. I want a minute to myself. I will retreat to the bathroom. Pull up the kids stool and sit there for 10 min and take a break. I pull out a book I have under the cabinet and I read a chapter. It’s awesome. The girls will sometimes knock on the door and ask me something. All I need to say are the words “Mommy needs some privacy”. And they retreat. Like magic.

I retreat to the bathroom when I need a mommy ‘time out’. When I know I’m going to yell or say something I shouldn’t. When I’m about to pull out my hair and I know some deep breathing exercises would benefit. I retreat to the bathroom. I pull up that same stool and I sit. I breathe deeply. I practice my calming breath. I take a minute. Again if my girls come pound on the door I say the magic words about my needing privacy. And Poof!

I retreat to the bathroom when I can’t stand to listen to any more arguing between my daughters. Sibling arguing is the bane of my existence. It just grates on my nerves. I’ve yelled at them to stop, I’ve put them both into a ‘quiet time’ out. I’ve tried explaining why they need to be friends, that they are sisters and will be forever. It doesn’t change a thing. There are theories that this sibling arguing is just their way of figuring out the relationship between themselves. It has nothing to do with us. That when we step in we are just rescuing when it doesn’t really need to happen. I found out that if I hear arguing and I can’t trust myself to just let them ‘work it out’ I head to the bathroom. I quietly close the door. I get out my nail polish and I paint my toenails or I rub a nice smelling lotion on my hands. In a few minutes I hear the arguing stop. I hear my girls ask each other “where’s mommy?” I hear their little feet and the light tap on the door. I say “oh, just a minute, Mommy had to use the bathroom.” Their reply, “Oh, ok, we’ll go play”. And I smile. I sit another minute and I head back out. Their argument forgotten. My sanity intact.

Why the bathroom and not the office or bedroom or…Well, the bathroom seems to be the one place where if I shut the door and say I need privacy, my kids actually listen!! It’s amazing. There is no other room in the house that gets that much respect. I would highly recommend creating your own bathroom sanctuary. A good book, favorite magazine, a fragrant lotion or nice candle. Retreat and sit. Take a breather, relax, have that mommy moment. Sometimes if I’m ambitious I even clean the bathtub πŸ˜‰

*Note: My girls are 3 & 5 so I feel comfortable leaving them ‘alone’ for a 10 min. period of time*


7 responses to “The bathroom, my mommy sanctuary :)

  1. Jessie says:

    How do you get them to honor the magic words and the sanctity of the bathroom?!? I use the bathroom for it’s intended purpose and the only thing that keeps the three of them out is a lock. And there is still a lot of “MOM WHAT ARE YOU DOING?” “MOOMM SHE…” and what not. Ok, I guess they are getting better but there is still no magic to being behind that door! πŸ™‚ And I think I will try using it for more than it’s original purpose- it can’t hurt to try! πŸ™‚

    • Megan L. says:

      It started with even when I was using the potty as a potty I would have to leave the door open a crack and my little one would sit on the floor outside the door, which was better than on my lap where she used to sit. When I first began the ‘privacy’ rule they would knock and talk through the door. I would tell them I couldn’t hear them and that the more they distracted me the longer I would ‘take’…at first I would shut the door just to ‘go’ and they would wait outside the door. As they got better at that I would take longer doing something other than going potty. Then I just started using it as my space. Now both my girls demand ‘privacy’ when they use the bathroom themselves, except when they need me to wipe them πŸ˜‰

  2. Louise says:

    I’m with Jessie – I envy that your kids get the “privacy” aspect of the bathroom. Mine certainly don’t. If I’m lucky they knock before trying to come in. My youngest generally just toddles in with me and takes a seat to wait for me.

    I once tried to take a bath by myself to “get away” for a bit. In the end, they both just got in with me. It is what it is. I do alone time at the gym sometimes. Or if I get them watching TV, sometimes I can sneak off to the upstairs couch for a bit of me time – AGREED it’s important.

    • Megan L. says:

      I should have added that this is a newer luxury. Up until maybe half a year ago my little one would sit on my lap as I tried to just use the potty πŸ˜‰ Now at 3 & 5 both my girls want ‘privacy’ in the bathroom, so they get it. I think it just comes with a stage of development. It’s just if I am anywhere else in the house they are ‘right there’ all the time…..so I hide in the bathroom. πŸ™‚

  3. Nicola Young says:

    I agree that the bathroom equals privacy. Never thought of going there for the sake of some peace and quiet though. Must try that one. Thanks for the tip!

  4. […] Beat it: Leave the area. Your children may stop if they don’t have an audience or they may follow you. Go into a room such as a bathroom and lock the door. (See my post The Bathroom, My Mommy Sanctuary) […]

Thoughts?? :)

