Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

I WIll Survive, Mommy Style…

on June 22, 2014

This weeks Weekly Challenge was to attempt to change song lyrics to an existing song
These are my lyrics based on the song, I Will Survive, by Gloria Gaynor

I Will Survive…Mommy style 🙂

At first I was afraid I was petrified
Kept thinking I could never keep this sweet baby alive
But then I spent so many nights
Looking at you while you slept
And I grew strong
And I learned that we’d get along
You’re still here
from outer space
I just walked in to find you here with that uh-oh look upon your face
I should have used the baby gate
I should have moved that planter out
If I had known for just one second you’d be knocking it all down

Go on now, play in the dirt
Just throw it around now
‘Cause you’re a baby anyway
Weren’t you the one who knocked that plant down on the floor
Do you think I’d crumble
Did you think I’d throw my hands up high?

Oh no, not I. I will survive
Oh as long as I know how to love
I know I’ll stay alive
I’ve got all my life to live
I’ve got all my love to give and I’ll survive
I will survive,
I will survive! Hey, Hey!

It took all strength I had not to fall apart
Kept trying’ hard to mend the messes that you impart
And I spent oh so many nights
Just rocking you to sleep, I used to cry
But now I hold my head up high
And you see me, somebody new
I’m not that brand new little momma trying something new
And so I felt like just one more
And just expected it to be
Now I’m saving all my lovin’ for two daughters loving me

So grab my hands, Let’s walk some more
Just hang on tight now
‘Cause you’re not babies anymore
Weren’t you the ones who tried to break me with no sleep
Do you think I’d crumble
Did you think I’d bury my head deep?

Oh no, not I. I will survive
Oh as long as I know how to love
I know I’ll stay alive
I’ve got all my life to live
I’ve got all my love to give and I’ll survive
I will survive, Oh

Go on now, go walk alone
You’re independent now
‘Cause you’re not a toddler anymore
Weren’t you the one who tried to scare me with your three’s
Do you think I’d crumble
Did you think I’d fall down on my knees?

Oh no, not I. I will survive
Oh as long as I know how to love
I know I’ll stay alive
I’ve got all my life to live
I’ve got all my love to give and I’ll survive
I will survive,
I will survive!

It took all the strength I had not to fall apart
Kept trying’ hard to be the best mommy and do my part
And I spent oh so many nights
Just watching while you sleep, I still just smile
And I thank my lucky stars
And you see me, somebody new
I’m not that brand new little mommy who’s trying something new
And I’ve grown so strong,
And you have too
We’ve made it this far,
together that is true
So let’s go on, go walk out the door
Our new adventure
‘Cause I’m not scared anymore
Weren’t you the one who taught me all about true love
Do you think I’d crumble
Did you think my heart would open wide?

Oh no, not I. I will survive
Oh as long as I have you to love
I know I’ll stay alive
I’ve got all my life to live
I’ve got all my love to give and I will survive
I I I WILL survive

(fading ending:)

Go on now, I’ll hold you close
Just lay your head down
‘Cause I’m here always for you
Weren’t you the one who gave me motherhood
I’m forever yours
And always lovin you… ❤


4 responses to “I WIll Survive, Mommy Style…

  1. […] Meaningful Mommy | I WIll Survive, Mommy Style… […]

  2. […] by WordPress. Every Monday there is a new writing challenge. I wrote lyrics to an existing song, I will Survive , I explored my neighborhood, and I wrote about my two selves colliding…It is challenging and […]

  3. […] loved Megan’s post about arts and crafts as well as her rendition of that famous song I Will Survive. She also nominated me for Versatile Blogger award so I wanted to take this moment to thank her […]

Thoughts?? :)

