Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

A Family Set of Passports

on June 20, 2014

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” ~Unknown
Traveling internationally with my young children will be a new experience. We leave for our 30 day Croatian adventure in about a month. New experiences make me nervous and when they include my children anxiety sets in. It has taken some time for me to be able to visualize what a trip of this magnitude would look like for my family. Now that I’ve come to the comfortable place I am today when I think about international travel with my daughters, it’s all I can think about. I am giddy with excitement and I know we are ready!

I believe in living simply, although it can be hard to do. I believe that we do not need to consume as much as we are told by media, society, and others. Again, it’s hard to fight this societal expectation. I believe in living within our means. I believe that our money is better spent on helping others than personal material stuff. I believe that giving makes us richer than getting. And that by helping others we really help ourselves. I believe that life experiences are priceless.

One of the life experiences that I find invaluable is travel. Travel is expensive. Airfare prices do seem crazy, but if you think about it, you are paying for the luxury of quick transport to other parts of the world. In reality it should be expensive! Totally worth the price tag! Of course I still love finding a great deal 😉

 

 

I think traveling is the best education one can give a child or themselves. Seeing the world promotes the idea that we are all in this together. This is our planet and we are its people. I routinely talk with my girls about other countries and kids who live there. We talk about What their lives may be like in ways that are similar to or different from what my daughters know. My oldest who is 5 especially loves to hear about other kids. She is very excited to see “kids who live in Croatia and speak Croatian”.  She is also very fond of the idea that she may make a friend there. I really hope she does!

 

A common trait that my husband and I share and what brought us together is our need to travel. We love new places, new experience, and different cultures. Traveling brings out the best in both of us. A sense of freedom and excitement that isn’t as apparent in our normal daily lives.  If we passed any of our traits on to our girls, I hope this is it! We have big plans for this family and its wanderings…Among my many lists I have one of places I want to experience and share with my daughters and husband!!

And so it begins 🙂


6 responses to “A Family Set of Passports

  1. Which part of Croatia are you visiting? I am making a wild assumption it’s the seaside as most people usually wind up there!

    • Megan L. says:

      Yes 🙂 We will spend most of our time between the two islands of Uglian (town of Kuklijia) and Vis (town of Komiza) with some time on the mainland in Zadar and Split. My husbands dad is from Kuklijia and his mom is from Komiza. We will visit his grandparents when we are on Vis.

      My husband spent many summers there while he was growing up and I have been twice (pre-kids) I just haven’t wanted to make the long journey from Seattle with kids until now. Our girls are 3 & 5 now and it finally seems manageable 😉 We are very excited!

  2. […] benefits of family travel: I know that giving our children the gift of traveling abroad and in our own country and […]

Thoughts?? :)

