Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

There’s Something About Live Music

on June 14, 2014

I went to a concert last night. I know! I actually left the house, kid free looking like I was going somewhere fun. I had forgotten how much I enjoy live music. I haven’t been to a show in ages. Probably pre-kids! I didn’t know the band well but there is something about the energy a live show sends out no matter who it is. (*Disclaimer, all artists send out energy, we all may have differing ideas on whether we like that energy). Anyway, this energy moved through the crowd, and you could feel it wrap around you and carry you with it. The sound deafening at first as my ears adjusted to the volume. (I know, old mom alert) Sound waves vibrating in my chest, me becoming part of the sound. My blood pumping to the beat. Getting enveloped by the music, the experience of it all. It is an adrenaline rush.

I couldn’t make out all the words to the songs with the background noise and the sheer volume so I found myself imagining what the band felt like being up there. Their energy mingling with the fans. Giving of themselves so boldly, being fed by the excitement in the room. All part of a shared experience. I thought about everyone there. The mom with her young daughter and son dancing and waving their light wands. The dad trying to take a picture of his daughter, trying over and over to get the phone to work, smiling and laughing with his teenager. The woman in the white tennis shoes and rhinestone belt who danced the whole time even when those around her were seated. The teenagers screaming and jumping up and down as the lead singer ran around the stadium. Connecting with the audience, sharing a bit of themselves with each other, a quick clasping of hands. The young and the old, the connection this music brought.

I found myself envisioning the days when I will take my daughters to a venue such as this. (Taking note of bring earplugs in my purse…) Wondering what the music scene will be like when that day arrives. Hoping they will want me there, that it can be something we can share. Witnessing their excitement and joy on their faces as they soak in the experience. I can only imagine for know having really no idea until it is actually happening. Like everything with parenting. The thought makes me smile.

I also realized I am not the 20 year old concert goer with limitless energy. Ok, so I knew this going in since I am very close to 40. The opening band didn’t start until 7, followed by a second group, with the main band beginning at 9:40. I began feeling tired but then would be amazingly re-energized by the music. I swear it’s contagious. The next song, the changing of instruments reeling you in for more. Wanting the last song, the encore, the continued connection.

And this morning I had a concert hangover. I didn’t have any alcohol, but because I stayed up later than usual. I invested in the experience, letting myself become part of the music. I was present in the moment allowing all time to be consumed by the sound. Moving with the music from start to finish like a wave from crest to shore. Now, basking in the remnants of a wonderful night I can’t wait to go again! I have a feeling this year will be one full of music. Live, loud, heart pounding, make you feel alive, music. ❤

I agree with the band I enjoyed last night…

When you’re happy like a fool, let it take you over
When everything is out you gotta take it in.

Oh, this has gotta be the good life
This has gotta be the good life
This could really be a good life, good life… ~One Republic (Good life Lyrics)


3 responses to “There’s Something About Live Music

  1. Concert-going is few and far between now that we have kids, but one of my favorite concerts that I have ever been to was Trampled by Turtles about two years ago with my husband! The energy of the band, the connection that we felt with those around us was amazing; we danced our butts off that night 😀

  2. […] Live Music!: There is something about live concerts that just move me. Music is just so much better when heard live. This year I am going to try to see more live venues. […]

Thoughts?? :)

