Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

I’m not intimidated by being average.

on May 15, 2014

I’ve decided to give in to myself and do less. No leaning in. No over-achieving, no striving to be the best of the best of the best. Nope, no more. I’m not buying into it. I really wasn’t very good at it anyway. Probably because my heart wasn’t in it.

Being better…what does it mean anyway? Better than who? Better than what? Who decides what “being the best” even means. The best mom? The best friend? The best career? It’s all opinion, isn’t it?

I had a friend in school a long time ago who said to me, “Megan, if you just tried you could conquer the world, you don’t even try and look at what you can do.” Did I always try my absolute best…ummm..probably not, did I have any interest in conquering the world…ABSOLUTELY NOT! Sounded horrible! God, the pressure! Made me sweat just hearing her say that. I think I applied myself less the whole rest of the day, maybe the week. And hives, I think her idea gave me hives. Why would I want to stand out? What’s so great about being noticed in a way you have no desire for. What if being the smartest isn’t your goal. What if proving yourself to others doesn’t interest you. What if you like just blending in? What if you’re just not comfortable shining on the outside?

Average, that’s where it’s at. Contentedly average. I’ve decided there is only so much expected from average people. The bar isn’t too high as to never reach it and the expectations are doable. People don’t feel as let down by their average counterparts. If people look at me and think I’m average I’m ok with that. I, unlike Taylor Swift,  am not “intimidated by the fear of being average”.

Another bonus is no one cares to compete with average. No besting matches needed. No arm wrestling keeping up with the Joneses. They can easily feel superior. To those of us like me who don’t care, go right ahead! I think that’s awesome. Have your crazy busy, hectic, important schedules. Buy the best, do more, go faster…be busier. I will gratefully hand that role to you. You can have it. I know I’m happier without it.

I’ll let you in on a secret…I am living up to MY potential. I like slow. I like the quiet and calmness. Peace and tranquility, if you will. Yep, the shoes off, tree hugging (because people in my personal space make me nervous), out in the fresh air, seeing the world, taking my time potential I have inside me. I can conquer the world. I’m just not going to do it in a boardroom, or a high-profile business office, or a fast tracked career…some people shine on the outside because of the limelight. I shine brightly on the inside because of my heart.

I will unleash my full potential onto the world, traveling to all its corners with my family, learning and sharing and leaving things better than when I got there. I will conquer it by love, smiling and acceptance. I will be meaningful and intentional in my actions and words. I will be helpful, caring and inspiring. I will also be quiet, unassuming and intimate. I will guide my children and love them with all my being. I will read books for fun, not just knowledge, and I will explore just to see. I will sing and dance badly because I can and I will be laughing. I will never be famous, I will never have my name in bright lights or newspaper headlines. Nor would I ever want to. But I will be in the background. I will be making a difference. In my own seemingly average way. But then again, is what makes something average only opinion as well?


11 responses to “I’m not intimidated by being average.

  1. sarah says:

    This is a really lovely post Megan, I have certainly spent a while coming to terms with the fact that I will just be me, not a CEO or a world class anything. Its not always easy to remember that actually that is good enough, and generally much, much more fun and real. It frees us up to focus on whats really important and to commit to that instead.

    • Megan L. says:

      Thank you 🙂 Yes, it’s hard to think this way when “society” tells us from a young age that we need to be ‘the best’…but unfortunately most times our best selves are not going to be happy with some high powered flashy career. that best is someone else’s opinion!! And you are a world class YOU, the one and only ❤

  2. Eden says:

    “some people shine on the outside because of the limelight. I shine brightly on the inside because of my heart.” …Love this line!… you go with your average self! I just saw a commercial for I cant remember what, but it was all about how bad it was to be average…really? Good for you living the life YOU want and not letting society dictate how you should live. ~Namaste

    • Megan L. says:

      Thank you 🙂 Yes, Exactly! Average seems to get a very negative view from society…why is that? Who is in charge of deciding what makes someone or something average? And why is it so bad? That’s what I hope people will think about with this post. ❤

  3. […] with being Average??? Why has it become such a dirty word? I wrote about this last week in my post I’m not intimidated by being average and tonight as I was sitting here watching Hell’s Kitchen I was insulted by a commercial by […]

  4. […] In living simply: I will continue to post about how leading a simple life can actually make it more meaningful and intentional. Here is an older post about my feelings about being Average. I am not intimidated by being average. […]

  5. teachezwell says:

    All I can say is wow. I think I’ll print that out or tattoo it on my arm. That’s a weird picture. Anyway, I would be a lot happier if I weren’t trying to be “better.” Your question is a great one: better than what? Self-acceptance is huge and beautiful when you write about it.

  6. Good write-up. I definitely appreciate this site. Keep writing!

Thoughts?? :)

