Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Yeah Whatever WordPress

on May 13, 2014

So being a newbie to the blog world I was sitting here clicking around my blog, just seeing what would happen with different clicks, search terms, tags…yada yada yada. Then I moved to looking on the web to see if I put in my name or search terms which posts came up if any…I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who does this?!? I’m still trying to figure out search engines and the best tags to use.

Anyway one of my posts surfaced and so I clicked on the link. Once I was looking at my blog post, which no one had read BTW, I then clicked like to see what would happen. Then I unclicked it to see if that could happen too. Like I said, I’m a super newbie when it comes to the inner or even outer workings of a blog. I keep fumbling around changing this, clicking that, when I notice on my separate gmail tab that I had a new message. I think Yay, maybe someone new has liked or decided to follow my blog. I’m not sure why this makes me so happy, well, I guess I do, everyone likes those gold stars and most people like to be noticed. Being followed is a little creepy, except when it’s a blog, then it’s great!

Well, I opened my new message and it is not a new follower. It is not a new like. No gold stars. It was WordPress. My host, teacher, blogging buddy, confidant…my WP, or so I thought. Their message to me said, “You liked your own post on Meaningful Mommy”. Oh but that’s not all. A giant picture of me and another message which reads, “You’re so vain you probably think The What, How and Why of Positive Affirmations is about you”.

Well, well, well WordPress, I didn’t know you were so witty, I meant snarky. Actually yes, the positive affirmations post is sort of about me, I’m trying to do away with negative self talk. Trying to stay in a positive mindset. And yes, I did like my post. I wrote it, it took time and thought on my part. Have you read it?

And oh, I did un-like it once I saw what happens when the like is clicked and that yes, posts can also be un-liked. Nope, I had not tried that on someone elses blog for a reason. I wouldn’t want them to see they got ‘another blogger like’, feel good getting that gold star, only to have it disappear. So my blog was the logical place to do that. I couldn’t hurt my own feelings by liking then un-liking a post, but then you did it for me. dissed by WordPress. WP, how could you be so cruel? You know me better than that! You know more about me than most of my family.

But anyway WordPress, no,I am not vain. Far from it. I would almost prefer that trait instead of the one I have that I constantly work on improving. Daily. So next time you think you’re being funny, witty or whatever those type of comments do for you, maybe think twice. At least send an equally sassy comment about me un-liking my own post. Here’s one you could use, “You’re so insecure you un-liked your own post”…or “You obviously have no sense of humor, write an affirmation about that…”

Tonight’s Affirmations:

“I am not offended by being called vain by WordPress”
“I am likeable”.
“I like myself”. Literally and figuratively. Take that WP. Take that! πŸ˜‰


9 responses to “Yeah Whatever WordPress

  1. LoL, that was a funny post. Someone at WP has a sense of humor. πŸ˜‰

  2. neasha1 says:

    That is hilarious! I think we have all liked our own posts to see what happens in the beginning of learning to blog. Haha :))

    • Megan L. says:

      Thanks! I’m glad it’s not just me who has done this! I thought, oh great now I’ve been marked by WP as a self-liker/un-liker…the shame πŸ˜‰

  3. You are not the only one that searches for their blog…lol…I do it all the time to see if I am getting my blog where I need to be, especially on pinterest ❀

Thoughts?? :)

