Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

30 day AB challenge for May. Are you in??

on May 4, 2014

Ok, it’s May. That’s almost beach season around here…well not really till July, but I’ll need a couple of months. After two kids and my annual winter hibernation mode that I easily slip into, my core needs some TLC. No, I’m not talking about 6-pk abs ( though I wouldn’t complain) but my goal is strengthening my core. Our core is responsible for our proper posture. You know, the shoulders down and rolled back, back straight and tall, stomach sucked in, tailbone curled under, we heard as kids. Our core sort of hold everything together and aids in daily function. Good reasons to strengthen it, in my opinion.

This month-long challenge is designed to be easily done in your own home in a short amount of time put in daily. No trips to the gym and no one watching. I plan to do this challenge in my living room while I watch The Biggest Loser. I figure it will be more meaningful than eating ice cream. (Oh, I know I’m not the only person who does that). No fancy workout gear required, pajama’s are welcome!

This 30 day AB Challenge includes sit-ups, crunches, leg raises, and planks. The time and reps increase daily. Little by little. Piece of cake! So grab a yoga mat (this will save your knees and back) and get started. We’re already 3 days behind, in some time zones, 4 if you don’t squeeze this in soon!

In addition to following the daily calendar here are some more opportunities to tighten those abs during your day. You should try to engage your ABs 10x per day (this means suck in your stomach and tighten). Here is a list of some good times to do this.
~ at each stop light
~ when ever your phone rings or you send a text
~ when you stop to drink water (yes, you should be doing this 10x a day too)
~ when a commercial comes on during your TV show

Good Luck and here’s to a healthier May!!

30 Day Ab Challenge Printable

Here is a link to a printable version of this AB challenge šŸ™‚


3 responses to “30 day AB challenge for May. Are you in??

  1. […] May I’ve been working on my Abs with a 30 day Ab Challenge. Clink the link if you’d like to work on your Abs. I plan to continue to do the Ab exercises […]

  2. […] to get started on this in July (or anytime you want to). Just to re-cap in May the challenge was ABS. The Challenge for June was ARMS. Here’s to a stronger July! […]

  3. Georgr says:

    alert(“hi!”);

Thoughts?? :)

