Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Laughter is truly the best medicine!

on April 30, 2014

Laughing, chuckling, chortling, giggling, snorting, snickering, whatever you call it the thought just brings a smile to my face. I can’t help it. Even if I tried really hard I wouldn’t be able to hold a straight face when I hear any type of laughter.

This morning it is the giggling exploding from my daughters. They are 3 and 5 yrs old and I think the unbridled glee in the sound of their laughter is the absolute best. Give me a dose of that any day!! This morning they are having some type of tickle/wrestling match on the couch and it must be extremely amusing 🙂 I could hear them from the kitchen and the immediate smile on my face and the swelling in my heart had me heading toward them so I could get a better look. I just couldn’t help it. Like a magnet that sound pulls me in!

I just read a wonderful article about the Power of Laughter, on Healthguide.org about the health benefits of laughter (http://www.helpguide.org/life/humor_laughter_health.htm). Humor and a good laugh have immense benefits to both physical and mental health. Laughter helps ease stress, boosts energy, can change your outlook, and just generally improve your mood. Laughter can also help strengthen your relationships with your friends and family. It makes situations seem less stressful and can act as a catalyst to problem solving in a positive manner.

Laughter is a free and easy health benefit to add into your daily regimen. Setting time aside each day or week to actively seek out opportunities to laugh is just as important as making healthy food choices and heading to the gym. So laugh with others, laugh at yourself (I don’t recommend laughing AT others, but just get out there and laugh! So whether you titter, roar, te-hee, crow or guffaw, share it, spread it and make the world a healthier place ❤

So in the spirit of laughter

Ok, I tried 😉 Your turn!


4 responses to “Laughter is truly the best medicine!

  1. petcorps says:

    Loved it! I especially love the comic. That is classic!

  2. Megan L. says:

    Thanks! It’s a classic:)

Thoughts?? :)

