Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

“A wise woman recognizes when her life is out of balance and summons the courage to act to correct it, she knows the meaning of true generosity, happiness is the reward for a life lived in harmony, with a courage and grace.” Suze Orman

on April 23, 2014

Balance…that’s a hard one for me. I’m not always sure what it would look like in my life. Sometimes I imagine a pie graph where all the sections are of equal percentages. Husband, children, happiness, self, work and play of all equal proportions. Sometimes I envision it to be like a heartbeat, rising and falling in a consistent pattern equal parts exertion and rest. But usually balance for me feels like a tightrope walk. Where I am on a ridiculously rigid path trying to hold my head high while I balance my children on each hip along with my family, friends and some idea of self.

This stressful idea of balance is all my doing. I have a great life. A wonderful husband, amazing daughters and close friends & family. It’s me who is the problem. I have undefined expectations of what I want my life to ‘look’ like, accomplishments I think I need to feel, well accomplished, goals to reach immediately. Did I mention patience is not a virtue I was born with, but one that takes great energy.

Hence this blog. My platform to organize and prioritize and realistically balance my life. Focus on a clear purpose and go from there. I have decided that leading a meaningful life will be my ballast. The key to keeping my life and spirit in balance.

I have ordered two new books, A Life in Balance, Nourishing the Four Roots of True Happiness, & Uncommon H.O.P.E. A Powerful Guide to Creating an Extraordinary Life, both by Kathleen Hall that I think will help me clarify what balance will be in actuality in my life (not just what it looks like in my head).

I have also attached a few good reads below 🙂

http://livingthebalancedlife.com/resources/joshua-becker/
http://zenhabits.net/simple-living-manifesto-72-ideas-to-simplify-your-life/
http://www.psychologytoday.com/basics/happiness

If you have any books that you’ve read that have helped you please leave them in the comments below 🙂


Thoughts?? :)

