Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

Microwave free in 2014….

on April 21, 2014

We remodeled our kitchen in November and lived without a working stove for over two months. It was fun for the first few weeks. We were eating out every night, trying new restaurants in our area. Living the high life. Then we started noticing how much more money we were spending and we knew it just wouldn’t be good budgeting to keep it up for the duration of the remodel. Plan B became buying foods that we could either eat raw or “cook” in the microwave. We made salads and sandwiches, heating up soup in the microwave. We ate microwave mac n cheese, Indian food microwave meals, microwaved quesadillas, I even microwaved baked potatoes. We began to feel gross. We were not huge microwave users in the past and this was overload. About 6 weeks in our microwave began to fail. It was feeling overloaded too I guess. All of the buttons stopped working except for the 30 sec. button. So in order to cook something for 3 minutes you had to push the button 6 times, if you needed 8 minutes of micro time we were pushing the 30 sec. button 16 times. You get the picture. Funny at first, not so much after the first few days. Then the time display went out and the microwave would randomly flash numbers. It beeped on its own. We decided it was possessed and would walk by it giving it a sideways glance. Thankfully our remodel came to a point where our new stove was up and running!! Yay!! I reluctantly moved the possessed microwave onto our shiny new counter. It seemed out of place. I thought it was ugly, actually I really hated it. I tried moving it which didn’t help. Then one magical day it died! My husband tried valiantly to revive it. He tried a different plug, pushed all the buttons a few times, even gave it a few whacks. Nothing worked. I did a happy dance and eagerly sent it to where dead microwaves go for a proper burial. We talked about getting a new one. Maybe one that fit in the corner of the counter…then I had the crazy idea…what if we didn’t get a new one. What if we just went microwave free?? Unheard of right?! I know there was an era before microwaves (although not in my lifetime) and I knew there had to be a way to heat up left overs on the stove or in the oven. We made a meaningful decision to go microwave-less. I am happy to report that we have been microwave free for 78 days. It has had some disadvantages, for example I can no longer make single serve rice crispy treats on the fly when I just really need a treat. Ok, ok, I know a bad habit best to be broken anyway. But other than that it has been wonderfully freeing! Food takes more time to prepare and cook but it feels and tastes like real food. I would highly recommend putting your microwave out to pasture. Well maybe not into your yard but you get my point. šŸ™‚


Thoughts?? :)

