Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

New beginnings…we all deserve a do-over :)

on April 20, 2014

“Every day is a new beginning –
a day for a new plan and new action.
If today, in conscious awareness, you choose
the same plan as yesterday, you are wise.
If you choose a different plan, you are equally wise.
Whatever you choose, choose with intention.”
~Jonathan Lockwood Huie

In celebration of the Easter spirit of renewal and new beginnings many are looking to start again or have a do-over. I remind myself that all of my experiences, trial, and errors, as well as my triumphs and successes are equally important. I am who I am because of all these things. Free will and choice are amazing! We can choose another path, make a change, learn and move on.

I didn’t always think this way. I had the notion that if I made a choice I had to stick it out no matter what. If I was unhappy it was my fault for making a bad choice and I had to stay there, in that ugly place or feeling. All decisions were either good or bad based on the outcome or my feelings after. One day I realized that this was all in my head and not true to life at all. Since, I have thrown in the towel on many occasions, thinking why am I struggling to make this work. It will not work this way. Then I made a change. Sometimes drastic. Sometimes subtle. But a change none the less. This felt so freeing! I didn’t have to BE the choice I made. I could alter that anytime I wanted. This was MY life to shape and mold.

My shift in thinking about my choice over decisions has helped me be a better mommy, meaningful in my actions. My daughters understand what it means to start again, to get a do-over. If they are crabby and just off kilter when they come down stairs after waking up in the morning I have them run upstairs and start over. Get out of bed again, maybe off the other side. A do-over. We have do-overs when they say something they don’t mean. We re-do actions in a more positive way. We make mistakes and we learn from them. I want my daughters to never feel stuck or held down my a choice they’ve made. Their choices should be learning tools toward a happy life, not something that binds them by guilt. We are only as stuck as we allow ourselves to be. Every moment is a chance for a new beginning.

Be brave, be bold, be meaningful and most of all, give yourself a do-over! ❤

“If there are flaws they are in ourselves, and our task therefore must be one not of redesign but of renewal and reaffirmation, especially of the standards in which all of us believe.”
~Elliot Richardson


Thoughts?? :)

