Meaningful Mommy

Making Moments Meaningful WordPress.com site

My mom magazine….

on April 18, 2014

 Image

I get a few magazines in the mail…They were forced on me because my airline miles were about to expire and I could hand-pick a few magazines for free…I couldn’t just waste those miles now could I. So, I chose a few mom type magazines that I thought would be fun to flip through…

Which brings me to this post. I’m here to propose a magazine that is for average moms…not the high aspiring super crafty pinteresty  moms that have the time and energy to do 99 days of summer fun activities as one magazine suggests. Seriously, one item for each day from Memorial Day to Labor day. It doesn’t say pick 10, or even maybe 20, it is a daily calendar of 99 activities to do, or things buy or create. Items that include things like this: customize a pair of keds (I could see doing this one with my girls, but for me to wear using my art skills…nope), exfoliate with a natural sea sponge (I’m lucky if I get a 3 min. shower), make a custom T-shirt for the whole crew (ummm would buying 4 matchy ones count? and why?), swim along a pier (here in the Pacific Northwest you would most likely freeze unless that pier was short and on a lake)… There were some I could probably do, like paint my nails (which would be a nail painting party according to my girls), try artisan sea salt (this I could buy at Whole Foods), and buy a nice water bottle to use all summer (I actually need one of these).

My mom magazine would also do away with titles like “83 products and tips to simplify your life”, which then are hidden throughout the 182 page magazine. I do not have time to hunt for time-saving tips. You want to save me some time put these tips in a condensed list…of maybe 12. That I could do, but 83!! Seriously? I would also add pictures of homemade cakes and pies that are not the pictures of perfection, outdoor entertaining areas that do not cost an arm and a leg and gardens that look like they were realistically cared for by an average family complete with a few weeds and brown leaves.

Moms do not need to be reminded that they are short on time or style or the skills to make that perfect summer cake. Moms like me need a magazine that says that average is good enough, that if your children are smiling (most of the time) that’s good enough, that if you’ve made or ordered dinner, of any caliber with a vegetable, and a protein  it’s good enough!! Average moms are amazing too and I want a magazine that honors that! ❤

Side note: I have nothing against the crafty pinteresty moms I mentioned above. I have several friends who fit into this class of mom. They are amazing and I am in constant envy of their awesomeness… 🙂

Motherhood has a very humanizing effect. Everything gets reduced to essentials. ~Meryl Streep

 

 

 


Thoughts?? :)

